161 In Attendance at the 2005 Clay Center High School Alumni Banquet

The Clay Center High School Alumni Banquet was held in the high school gymnasium on Saturday, May 28th with 161 members and guests in attendance. Following a Social Time with tea, lemonade and cookies, President Stacey Repp Godtel opened the banquet by giving a welcome, and led the assembly in the Pledge of Allegiance. Erin Highea Shaffer (Class of 1995) gave the opening prayer followed by the banquet buffet catered by the Sutton American Legion. Dinner music was provided by Ben Northrop (Class of 1999).

Principal Jim Bovee was the evening's guest speaker. He gave a school update and highlighted important events, which had taken place during the 2004-2005 school year. He also pointed out the wall of pictures and articles on display and invited everyone to take time to look over the accomplishments of the students. The display was organized by Doris Rheome Hoyt (Class of 1981).

Senior Class Sponsor Jeremy Heneger introduced the Class of 2005. 6 of the 18 members in the class were in attendance. Mr. Heneger discussed the Journalism and Speech accomplishments for the year and congratulated the editors and staff of the school newspaper "The Paw Print" for a successful year.

President Godtel opened the Business Meeting with the minutes read by Bob Swanson. Fae Unterseher followed with the treasurer's report. The scholarship program was discussed at length and recognition was given to the Royce and Marie Deines Family and the Nabb Family for their generous scholarships. Alumni members who are currently attending college and approaching their final year are eligible to apply for these scholarships. Fae discussed the new criteria for the Senior Class Scholarship and announced the 2005 recipients were Teagan Woodbury and Joe Johnson. She also discussed the association's affiliation with the Clay Center Community Foundation, the Wish List Project, and the importance of the members continued support of the association by paying yearly dues. Following a complete accounting of the association's financial report Fae announced her

intention to resign as Permanent Treasurer effective June 1, 2005. She thanked the officers and members for 13 years of friendship and for working together to help realize her goal of creating a scholarship program. When she came in as Permanent Treasurer in 1992 her goal had been to offer a \$250 scholarship to an outgoing member of the graduating class. That goal was reached in 1996 and as many as three \$500 scholarships have been given each year since then.

Sandy Northrop Overturf gave the Permanent Corresponding Secretary's report. She introduced Jimmie Marler, who is the husband of Sharon Ladd Marler (Class of 1965). Jimmie recently presented the school Superintendent, Lee Sayer, with a pencil drawing of the 1929 school building, which he had done as a gift for the school. Jimmie and Sharon live in Hartville, Missouri. He is a professor at Drury University and computer coordinator for the Norwood School system and is one of the most prolific painters in the world. Sharon is a retired teacher and school principal and is also a professor at Drury University. This beautiful drawing is sure to inspire many generations of students. Correspondence was received from Darrel W. Rippeteau (Class of 1935) who donated a book entitled Secret Soldiers (The Story of World War II's Heroic Army of Deception) to the High School Media Center. Mr Rippeteau also sent pictures and letters which were enjoyed by the assembly. Five gold bars were added to the alumni plaque this year and proceeds from the Wish List donations went toward the purchase of carpet for the student lounge and a UHF wireless microphone. Members managed nine fall concession stands in 2004 and realized a profit of \$800, which was deposited into the Foundation. The new Web site is at a standstill at this time due to a computer malfunction, but there is still hope of launching it sometime this summer. Watch for the www.cchsalumnionline.com . Sandy reported that more than 30 orders were taken for the new CD Directory. Proceeds from the sale of the CD Directory will fund the Web site. She also discussed the need for members within a 30-mile radius of Clay Center to consider serving on the newly formed Scholarship Committee and Advisory/Audit Board.

President Godtel recognized Fae's resignation and asked for a motion to accept it. Motion was made by Ardyth Mack Anderson (Class of 1949) and seconded by Harold Ockinga (Class of 1945).

Nominations for President were taken from the floor with Ben Northrop (Class of 1999) nominated and Vice President/Secretary Melissa Anderson (Class of 2001) nominated. Jack Fitzke (Class of 1951) moved to close nominations and Linda McCune Walker (Class of 1967) seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Ardyth Mack Anderson (Class of 1949) moved to dissolve the office of Permanent Treasurer to be replaced by a 1-year term of office and Gary Biester (Class of 1979) seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Ardyth Mack Anderson (Class of 1948) then nominated Angie Burgmaier Biester as Treasurer and Nathan Wilkerson (Class of 1980) seconded the motion. Motion carried.

President Godtel began the Honor Class introductions with the Class of 1945, which was represented by Thomas Pomeroy and had 10 members present.

The Class of 1950 was represented by Dale Holst and had 6 members present.

The Class of 1955 was represented by Christine Gavin Flesner. Christine was the only member present.

The Class of 1960 was represented by Steve Yost and had 7 members present.

The Class of 1965 was represented by Sharon Ladd Marler and had 11 members present.

The Class of 1975 was represented by Mike Sullivan and had 5 members present.

The Class of 1980 was represented by Ron DeBord and had 11 members present.

The Class of 1985 was represented by Nathan Wilkerson and had 9 members present.

The Class of 1990 was represented by Merritt Ewer Pike. Merritt was the only member present.

The Class of 1995 was represented by Daron Peshek and had 4 members present.

The Class of 2000 was represented by Ryan Higbea and had 2 members present.

Glenn Nabb (Class of 1934) was the oldest member in attendance.

Sandy took the podium once again to present Fae with a framed certificate to honor her 13 years of service to the association and wished her the best in her future endeavors. Fae received a standing ovation from the audience.

The evening ended with the singing of "Loyalty."